top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePriscilla Gatley

Being an ECE in the "New Normal"

In my last post I talked about what life as an ECE in this "new normal" could potentially look like. I expressed my concerns around the safety of the educators and children, rigorous new procedures to ensure this safety, the impact of the pandemic on the social-emotional health of the children, and how this is no longer the job we originally signed up for. This pandemic has forced us to reconsider if we truly want to be an educator under these new circumstances, and that it is okay if you don't. I never imagined that child care centres in Ontario would be allowed to open as early as July, but here we are.


I feel very lucky that my place of employment allowed us one week to clean and prepare our space before the children entered it. However, my first day back with a group of co-workers was both exciting, and scary. Up until this point during the pandemic I had not been in a group of people let alone in a confined space together. I felt like I was doing something wrong by even being there. It took me a couple days to begin feeling comfortable being around people again which made me realize just how much this time had affected me. Then my second thought was if this is how I am feeling how are the parents and children going to feel upon their return?


With this thought in mind we heavily focused on mindfulness while arranging the room. We made sure there were quiet areas the children could relax in that offered self-soothing toys such as the Dimpl Baby Sensory Toy. We placed yoga flow charts on the wall at the children's height so they would be able to us these moves as a way to calm their body and mind. We also searched for playlists on spotify with relaxing music that could be played throughout the day, or when needed. With these tools in our environment our hope was that it would support the educators and the children's emotional wellbeing.


We also had to keep in mind how easily the toys could be cleaned as this is something we have to do often under the new guidelines. Many of the materials we chose are non-porous and kept in plastic bins that can be washed. The cleaning of the environment is very meticulous as expected, however I do not find it to be extreme. We previously already had many hygiene practices in place to limit the spread of illness such as weekly cleaning of toys, cots, and cleaning surfaces before and after meals. Now the cleaning is more frequent, such as cleaning cots daily and toys multiple times per day, but I do not find it overwhelming by any means. In fact, it is something I think should remain in place as common practice to keep us all as healthy as possible, perhaps with a few adjustments to be maintainable long-term.


The first day the children arrived back to childcare the "Screener" educator greeted each family in full PPE: mask, face shield, and gown. We placed a photo of the educator without PPE on the screening table to assure the children it was still someone familiar under the funny outfit. Each child and parent had their temperature taken and was asked a list of screening questions before their child was allowed to enter. During this whole process the educator made friendly conversation in an attempt to make this whole process feel normal. After the children were screened they said their last goodbye to their parents and entered the classroom where another educator greeted them with a smile. At this point parents are not allowed to enter the classroom, something that feels very odd, but is necessary. Many of our parent interactions happen through weekly emails, facebook posts, and Zoom sessions. We had to think "outside the box" and be resourceful to maintain a close relationship with the families, something we greatly value.


When the children entered the room I could see the excitement as they reconnected with old friends they had not seen in almost four months. This excitement was sometimes interrupted by the realization that they were away from their parents for the first time in a while. When they would cry we would offer a quiet spot to relax, or a hug using a blanket as a barrier between us. To my surprise, other than the occasional sad moments the children did what children do best: they played. They played with their friends, with the materials in the room, and shared moments of laughter together. I felt many of my fears melt away as I watched the resilience of the children shine through what is possibly one of the most terrifying pandemics of our lifetime. I felt grounded by their natural ability to fully live in the moment, as it reminded me to do the same.


Overall, does my role as an educator feel like it has changed? Yes. Do I feel as though it has changed in a negative way? No. I have an added emphasis on cleanliness, and a new awareness of the spread of germs. However, this time has given me the gift of reflection. My role as an educator is to provide an environment where the children feel they belong, a relationship in which we can learn together, and a place where they can create joyful childhood memories. I feel I am still able to do all of these things, and therefore I still love being an educator! I do have my worries and concerns, but with each challenge that presents itself I am ready to face it with an open-mind and determination to be the best educator I can be.


If you have any questions or want to share a different perspective please feel free to contact me. If you enjoyed reading this subscribe to my mailing list to be notified when I share new posts. Thanks for reading!




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page